Friday, 25 January 2008

Assembly Government appoints more women to board

The Assembly Government has recently announced that two women will join its male dominated Management Board:

They will join Sir Adrian Webb as part-time non-executive members of the Management Board of the Welsh Assembly Government. If you remember, Sir Adrian recently conducted an 'independent review' into further education on behalf of the assembly government.

Kathryn Bishop (returning to the board) has over 25 years’ experience of working with organisations undergoing change, in both the public and the private sector (including Accenture, Allied Dunbar and Eagle Star). Her background includes IT and personnel management, and she has worked as a line manager and Director, a project manager and as a consultant. She is currently an Associate Fellow at the University of Oxford Said Business School and at Templeton College, and runs a small consulting business. She was a non-executive director on the Assembly Government Management Board from 2003 to 2007 and is currently an independent member of the UK Intellectual Property Office Steering Board. During her career, she has lead and managed five multi-million pound transformation programmes in various businesses and three merger projects in the financial services industry. Her public sector experience includes work for NDPBs and executive agencies such as Companies House and the Employment Tribunals Service, as well as for the DTI itself. Kathryn was educated at the City of Worcester Grammar School for Girls, Wellesley College, USA and at Oxford University.

Elan Closs Stephens is Professor of Communications and Creative Industries at Aberystwyth University’s Department of Theatre Film and Television where she also acts as Director of Enterprise and External Partnerships.At various times Elan has been a member of the Welsh Language Board, the Council of the National Library, the Broadcasting Council for Wales and S4C, and has served as a Governor of the University of Glamorgan and a school governor. She has also chaired Chwarae Teg a body to champion the economic development of women.In 1998, Elan became the Chair of the S4C Authority, a DCMS appointment that was renewed for a second term from 2002-2006. In 2006, she chaired the Stephens Report on the financing and structure of the arts in Wales. She was a Governor of the British Film Institute until 2007 and Chair of its Audit and Governance during the recent major refurbishment of the Southbank National Film Theatre. She is also a member of the Board of the Film Agency for Wales.She is currently on the Board of the British Council and sits on its Remuneration Committee. She also chairs the Wales Advisory Committee of the Council.Elan was born in Talysarn, in the Nantlle Valley, Gwynedd, educated at Ysgol Dyffryn Nantlle and was an Open Scholar at Somerville College, Oxford. She married Dr Roy Stephens who died in 1989 and has two grown-up children. She received a CBE in the Queen’s Birthday Honours 2001 for services to broadcasting and the Welsh Language.


Senedd Whip 25 January 2008 at 18:55  

Judging from their website there are only three female members among the servants.

Anonymous 27 January 2008 at 13:19  

It was worse a few years ago.

Aberystwyth 31 January 2008 at 23:52  

Great post!

BBC UK Politics

BBC Welsh Politics


Welsh Political News

UK News from Times Online

Telegraph Politics


Words © The Author [Posted by...] 2007 2008 2009 2010. Comments © their authors.


This is a personal blog - any views expressed are not those of the authors' employer(s), or organisation(s) they are involved with or represent.

Comments posted by readers of this blog do not necessarily reflect the views of the authors.

We don't accept any responsibility for the content of any blogs or websites linked from this site. Links exist to provide a wider experience of politics and life on the internet or to reciprocate for links on this blog.

For further information please refer to our Terms and Conditions.
Copyright © Miss Wagstaff Presents 2007 2008 2009 2010
No part of the content or the blog may be reproduced without prior written permission.

  © Blogger template 'Perfection' by 2008

Back to TOP